Twelfth – after CSS

Since I started this course, I look at coding more often then before, which is not so hard, since before I never looked at the code of any website that I ever visited. This post’s question is about imagining the web before CSS. Again, I have two remarks. One is that until now I was familiar only with the expression BCE. Now, I know there is a historical period, we call BCSS. The other is that given my previous experience, when I imagine the state of the web BCSS and now, when the use of CSS is standard, not very different pictures pop in my mind. I always envision yuppies staring hours at the computer screen, talking in abbreviations, drawing amazing things with the mouse, typing superquick, and never use their mouse to save. (Instead, they always use CTRL+S.) My imagination, of course, develops as I dwell in this course. So now I know, without imagining, that CSS came to relieve HTML from “doing the look.” CSS took over the design and now HTML makes sure, the content and the structure are firm. It allows to create in an even more flexible way than before, when the HTML code encompassed also the parameters of the design. What I can tell in general that sites designed with CSS as opposed those that are not seem to be able to move away from that rather rigid, table-like look. CSS can help creating more pictures that are web-coded and contain text. (As opposed to the HTML documents that seem to have more boxed text with illustrations.)

And in connection to the question, if the web benefits from CSS, I must say, I checked and I found two inter-linked blogs from 2006 and 2007 that argued that CSS was a failure. http://www.seopher.com/articles/css_3_is_a_failure_before_its_even_released

But these seem to be a minority. As CSS Positioning 101 by Noah Stokes, the article assigned for this class demonstrates, CSS allows previously unknown liberty in design. Even if half of the article contains code-excerpts, it is written so enthusiastically so I really do not understand how those bloggers could not see the beauty in it.

To close I permit myself to talk historically, again. Two hundred years ago, if one wanted to get rid of toothache, he or she went to the barber. Before electricity, they would use a man powered drill, and since the barber was busy with pulling out the tooth causing the pain, it was the patient who had to pedal a wheel which moved the drill. The tooth was either treated or pulled out, and the patient could leave cured. Since then, dentistry has evolved. Neither two hundred years ago nor now we die of bad teeth as the Egyptian pharaohs did. Yet, I assume, I am not the only one who appreciates the fact that there is an electric drill to help the dentist. And I am not talking about the other technical improvements that dentists use today as opposed to two hundred or two thousand years ago. The aforementioned two blogs argue that CSS fails because most of internet viewers use IE. While that could have been the case in 2006, today it is certainly not. Even internet browsing is subjected to historical change, so why would coding remain the same?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

